Fashion for the Rest of Us.

I love fashion as much as the next gal. I follow British Vogue on Facebook. Recently, British Vogue posted photos of some of their readers wearing their summer best. Of course the clothes were designer and the women were vamping it up in their outfits that cost the amount of money it would take to feed several homeless families. I made a smart ass comment to my friends that I should send British Vogue photos of me wearing a $3 dress from Savers.

I have fashion in my blood – my great uncle was a fashion photographer. Perhaps that is where my love of photography and fashion comes from.  I felt the desire to pay homage to fashion photography and all the fashionistas out there with their fashion blogs wearing $3000 shoes in every photo. However, I decided to mix it up a bit. I am modeling clothing that was under $20 – it is fashion for the rest of us. Because the rest of us wear that cute dress from several summers ago, or those $10 shoes from Target.

 photo 6_9_zps3314f6e2.jpg

What I’m wearing: black Pure Body t-shirt from the Gap, Old Navy skirt from several seasons ago, Canvas Ballet flats from Urban Outfitters from several seasons ago, Sash from a $5 Savers dress, Buddy Holly glasses from some store in Florida… and the best accessory of all – a Duncan Donuts caramel swirl iced coffee!

 photo 6_9_3_zps1fd65ced.jpg

 photo 6_9_2_zpsc1697dcd.jpg

What I’m wearing: a vintage dress from Savers, vintage beads from a dead relative,  hair accessory from NY&Co, Belt from JCPenny (it came with a skirt), shoes from Target that are several years old.

 photo 6_9_5_zps35b04344.jpg

 photo 6_9_4_zps27ec3b75.jpg

What I’m wearing: shorts from Old Navy from last season, the Essential Tank from the Gap, green halter bikini top from Old Navy.

These photos are not only an homage but a social commentary… we as a society have become narcissistic – its the “look at me” world. We are always connected via our phones, e-readers, computers, and websites to our Facebook, twitter, Pinterest and whatever new hot social network thing is out there for more people to look and admire us. Everything needs to be instantaneous and at our fingertips. We don’t talk face to face – we Skype, Facebook message or use face time. Ironically, we are connected by technology and not by actually being face to face to have a conversation with, or to touch the people we love or could possibly love. Yet we want them all to ‘friend’ us, and ‘like’ us.

Leave a Reply

