west side (of Providence) story…

Photobucket

May 9

Once upon a time, my Mother thought it was cool to put this four-foot statue of the Virgin Mary in my parents’ front yard. My friends said things like, “holy shit, that is that the Virgin Mary, or your little sister who was really bad?” Then, one day some guy stopped at my parents house and asked if he could buy it. Allegedly, he had a collection of large, religious statues at his house,  but lacked the Virgin Mary. My Mother feared that someone (like this man) would steal it, and asked my Dad to promptly put Mary in the backyard. (true story.)

Today, on Broadway, I found a store, whose name I didn’t catch, that apparently sells everything from the Virgin Mary (in a bathtub) to Buddha. It made me think of my parents’ four foot Virgin Mary. I really enjoy the bars on the windows… it’s like they’re in jail.

Photobucket

May 9

One of these things does not belong… it it Jesus, the Buddha or the red light, I’m not sure:

Photobucket

May 9

Photobucket

May 9

Leave a Reply

