The Mini Art Challenge.

I found the following on facebook, for an “Artist Trading Card Night.” I think one of my friends may have reposted the event:

calling all artists: painters, calligraphers, poets, photographers, weavers, printers, playwrights, carvers, sculptors, metal smiths, ceramicists, type setters, who work in materials such as paper, metal, stiffened fabric, plastic, clay, glass, balsa wood, embroidery canvas, textile arts, photo gravure, oil, collage, scratch board, mixed media, assemblage, letter forms, bead work, rubber stamps, carved soft block stamps, airbrush, pastels, sustainables, fuzzy yarns and many other materials to join together for an artist trading card night. Bring twenty pieces or more of original or limited edition work measuring 2.5” x 3.5” with your signature to Heir Antiques, 231 Westminster Street, Providence RI on March 30, children start at 6:00, adults 7:30. For more info e-mail alyn@alyncarlson.com or tyler@heirantiques.com

I had said I might go about a month back and promptly forgot all about it until I seen the reminder on facebook. I wasn’t sure if I was going to take on the challege of making  2.5″ x 3.5″ works of art – that is pretty small, considering the size of most of my work — on the other hand,  I’ve been receiving rejection letter after rejection letter in regards to art galleries and jobs. I figured, I should at least try. To be fair the gallery that contacted me today at least didn’t say, “no,” they didn’t book a show either, I’m on their “artist list.”

So in true form, I did all of these this morning… the event isn’t until 7pm tomorrow so I’m pretty sure I can whip out at least ten more…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

