My feminist high horse….

Last night on WBRU they played their “flashback of the week” here comes the sad part: it was the Breeders’ “Cannonball” a song that came out when I was a junior in high school *sigh*

So they play the song, then the female DJ comes on and mentions how the song was featured in some “teenage girl movies” in the 90’s… and continues her diatribe by completely insulting the Breeders by saying that they aren’t – how did she put it? I can’t recall her exact words, but basically she insulted the way that they look?! what the hell? What because they are not blonde haired blue-eyed size four woman with big fake breasts?! Not to mention, what happened to oh I don’t know, a musician’s musical talent?! This is why the music industry is a complete joke, because even the alleged liberal radio stations are still stuck in this ridiculous mindset that woman are supposed to bring on the sex appeal regardless of age, ethnicity, talent or brains.

4 responses to “My feminist high horse….

  1. I completely agree with you. And what’s not hot about The Breeders? Lovely people with great fashion sense and OMG good musicians/song writers. I’m not nearly the fan I used to be. I’ve gone other directions mostly. But still, yeah that DJ is an idiot.

    The Breeders were part of that first wave of music not only to be marketed as being alternative, but also very empowering to women. Both of those aspects started dying down far too fast for my tastes.

    • I know! when I was a teenager I wanted to BE Kim & Kelley, I thought they were the coolest people ever.

      It is kind of annoying that in the early 90’s female alt/rock musicians were more of a trend than something that the music industry embraced – you can probably count on one hand how many female musicians a rock station will play in a day.

  2. I completely agree with you. And what’s not hot about The Breeders? Lovely people with great fashion sense and OMG good musicians/song writers. I’m not nearly the fan I used to be. I’ve gone other directions mostly. But still, yeah that DJ is an idiot.

    The Breeders were part of that first wave of music not only to be marketed as being alternative, but also very empowering to women. Both of those aspects started dying down far too fast for my tastes.

    • I know! when I was a teenager I wanted to BE Kim & Kelley, I thought they were the coolest people ever.

      It is kind of annoying that in the early 90’s female alt/rock musicians were more of a trend than something that the music industry embraced – you can probably count on one hand how many female musicians a rock station will play in a day.

Leave a Reply

